Thursday, July 27, 2017

Wildfire Protection Entities and Counties to Implement Stage II Fire Restrictions Effective Tomorrow

Stage II Fire Restrictions will go into effect at 12:01am on Friday, July 28th across most of Northwest Montana. Federal, State, and Private jurisdictions implementing restrictions include:

• Glacier National Park
• Flathead National Forest, excluding the Bob Marshall and Great Bear Wilderness
• Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation, Northwest Land Office / State Land and Private Classified Forested Land within Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, and Sanders Counties. (Classified Forest Lands are defined in ARM 36.10.101 and determination may also be found on tax bills.)
• Montana Fish Wildlife and Parks, Region 1 & 2 within Kalispell Restrictions Area
• Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, and Sanders Counties
• Kootenai National Forest is going into Stage I Restrictions. However, all surrounding private land classified as

Forested is under Stage II restrictions.

The intent of Stage II Fire Restrictions is to effectively reduce the number of human-caused fires during periods of very high fire to extreme fire danger by decreasing potential sources of ignition. Each year, 70 to 80% of wildfires are human-caused and this summer the trend has continued. Northwest Montana is currently experiencing critical fire conditions including extremely dry forest fuels; forecasts of temperatures above normal accompanied by low humidity, wind, and minimal precipitation; and competition for firefighting resources, as many fires continue to burn across the State and the West.

Local agencies and partners are working in coordination to suppress all fires, but critical fire conditions often mean that fires have high potential to grow quickly and escape initial attack. Any new ignition puts firefighters and local communities at risk.

Please visit: for clarification on Stage II fire restrictions.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.